Georgia Drivers Education
Georgia drivers ed is an educational program that instructs new drivers on the basics of traffic safety, as well as driving techniques. Drivers education is most typically associated with teenagers, as it is a requirement for many teens in Georgia to complete this program in order to drive a motor vehicle. Georgia law allows new drivers who are 16 years of age to obtain a state driver’s license. As of 2007, however, new drivers of this age must successfully complete a driver’s education course in order to qualify for a driver’s license as part of the Joshua’s Law requirements. Review more information about first-time drivers in our guide. These driving lessons typically consist of a theoretical classroom portion, as well as practical training. More details on these driving classes can be found in the information below, including an explanation of why people use driver’s education and how to enroll in this course.
What is drivers education in Georgia?
Drivers education in Georgia is intended to teach new drivers how to safely operate motor vehicles and, in the process, prepare them to learn how to qualify for a state driver’s license. This driving course consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction, which comprises the theoretical portion of this course. Students must also complete an additional six hours of behind-the-wheel training, which consists of practical driving experience under the supervision of a certified instructor. In addition to these first time driving school requirements, teenagers are also expected to complete 40 hours of supervised driving outside of class time, including six hours of nighttime driving. This portion of driver training typically involves the participation of a parent or guardian who must be present in the vehicle while the teenager drives. Drivers ed is a requirement for 16-year-olds who wish to obtain a license. However, teenagers older than 16 and younger than 18 years of age need only to complete the 40 hours of supervised driver training mentioned above. Learn more about the driving responsibilities and restrictions associated with new drivers in our guide.
Drivers ed can be completed in a number of ways in Georgia. Teen driving school is typically offered in many public high schools throughout the state. Online driving course options also exist, as well as traditional, in-person driving schools. The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) does not directly administer any of these courses, but it does regulate and certify third-party providers, as well as the curriculum. A driver safety course segment is always part of the driving school curriculum. Upon completing drivers education successfully, a student is issued a certificate of completion that he or she will need to present to the DDS if it is required for obtaining a license. Remember that a driver training course certificate is not a replacement for taking the driver’s license exam. A teenager may still be required to complete the written and driven tests in order to become a licensed driver. Read more about driving tests in our guide.
Why do students take drivers education in Georgia?
Completing a teen driving course is a legal requirement for 16-year-olds to obtain their driver’s licenses in Georgia. The driving safety course, which also includes practical training, is a necessity if a teenager needs to operate a motor vehicle to go to work, attend school or participate in extracurricular activities. As such, many parents encourage their teenagers to enroll in driver’s education courses so they no longer need to depend on their parents for transportation. Driving lessons offered in public high schools tend to be the most popular format. Many teenagers like this option, because they can learn to drive alongside their peers during school hours. Drivers ed in public schools is also typically available free of charge, making it an attractive option for parents.
Driving lessons offered through independent driving schools may be an option for teenagers who cannot take this course at their public high schools, although these private schools typically charge a fee for attending. An independent driving course may also be an option for new adult drivers who feel they need training from a certified instructor. Completing driver training may also have some financial advantages. Students who complete drivers ed successfully may be entitled to receive discounts on their auto insurance premiums.
How to Enroll in Drivers Education
Enrolling in GA drivers education is simple, although the different formats and delivery methods of this class may involve different procedures. A teen driving course that is offered in a public secondary school typically requires a high school student to register for it at the time that he or she registers for other courses in school. Public school drivers ed is typically treated similarly to other elective courses, although each school may have its own rules and requirements. Contact your school or your child’s school to find out what the exact procedures are for enrolling in a driver’s education class. Driving lessons offered through independent schools require that you enroll either online or in person directly through the school. Independent driving schools may charge a wide range of tuition fees to attend.
Keep in mind that the DDS does not directly offer driving courses, but certifies third-party schools to administer these classes. Verify that the school you wish to attend is DDS-certified before you make any payment. Many independent schools offer a multitude of different driving and traffic courses. Teenagers who wish to take driving classes through one of these schools should make sure that they select the course that meets the Joshua’s Law requirements. If you take an online driving course, remember that you will still be required to complete the six hours of behind-the-wheel training. Read more about how to approach your new drivers license in our guide.