Reinstating a Suspended Drivers License in Georgia
A driver may be issued a suspended drivers license in Georgia if he or she commits serious violations or accumulates too many demerit points on a driving record. A drivers license suspension is inconvenient for drivers, because they can no longer legally operate their vehicles for a predetermined period of time. If caught driving with a suspended license, a driver can face jail time or a longer suspension period. The process to reinstate drivers license credentials can be followed by a driver once he or she has served the suspension period and meets all other qualifications set by the court or the Department of Driver Services (DDS). Before reinstating drivers license, a driver should review the requirements specific to his or her case. The requirements for a Georgia drivers license reinstatement can vary depending on the violation committed and the driver’s history. To learn more about drivers license restoration and the common causes for suspension, read through the following information.
Causes for a Suspended Drivers License in Georgia
A driver may need to check drivers license suspension requirements for reinstatements if he or she received a notice of suspension or has committed a violation that warrants a suspension. After learning about a revoked drivers license in Georgia, a driver should begin completing the necessary tasks to achieve license reinstatement. A provisional drivers license may also be suspended by the DDS if a driver violates the conditions of the license.
A GA drivers license suspension can be issued to a driver if he or she fails to meet court-ordered child support obligations. A driver may be issued a suspended drivers license if the Georgia Department of Human Services (DHS) informs the DDS through electronic notification that a driver has not followed all child support orders. Before suspending a license, the DDS offers the driver a grace period to meet all child support requirements. The drivers license is suspended if the driver cannot meet the requirements by the deadline. To reinstate drivers license, the driver must complete all mandatory child support payments and complete the reinstatement process with the DDS.
A revoked drivers license can also occur when a driver has been convicted of a DUI in Georgia, or has failed to appear in court for a mandatory court date. Drivers license suspension is issued by the DDS if a driver is given a violation, does not pay the traffic ticket by the deadline and does not appear in court on the scheduled court date. A suspended drivers license is also issued for a DUI conviction for at least 120 days or longer, depending on the number of offenses on the driver’s record.
A drivers license suspension in Georgia may also occur for a driver issued 15 or more demerit points over a 24-month period. The process for GA driver license reinstatement must be followed for drivers who are under 18 years of age and have accumulated four points within one year. A revoked drivers license is also issued if a driver who is 21 years of age or younger has committed a four-point violation. A GA suspended drivers license is issued when a driver commits one of the following serious violations:
- A felony with the use of a motor vehicle.
- Homicide with the use of a motor vehicle.
- Using a motor vehicle to flee from law enforcement or performing a hit and run.
- Racing with a motor vehicle.
- Driving with a suspended license.
A driver may need to look into reinstating drivers license credentials when it is suspended for not paying a Super Speeder fee. A Super Speeder fee is ordered from a driver if he or she was convicted of speeding 75 miles per hour and above on a two-lane road, or 85 miles per hour and above on any Georgia road or highway. A drivers license suspension is issued if the mandatory fee is not paid to the DDS within 120 days. Additionally, a driver may experience a revoked drivers license in Georgia if he or she cannot produce proof of adequate auto liability insurance to law enforcement upon request. To learn more about reasons for a GA drivers license suspension, download our informative guide.
How to Reinstate Drivers License in Georgia
Drivers need to check drivers license suspension requirements with the DDS before attempting to reinstate their licenses. In most cases, before a driver can reinstate drivers license in Georgia, he or she must serve a period of time with the suspended license. When attempting to complete a driver license restoration, the driver must also meet all requirements set by the DDS, which can vary depending on the reason for suspension. Generally, before GA driver license reinstatement, a driver must:
- Pay all necessary fines and the reinstatement fee.
- Show proof of adequate auto liability insurance.
- Complete any additional education courses or requirements, as ordered.
For reinstatement of a provisional drivers license or revoked drivers license, the driver must submit all necessary documents and proof of requirement satisfaction to the DDS. Once a drivers license reinstatement is granted, the driver may still be responsible for turning in insurance proof or other documents, as requested, to avoid another. To learn more about checking drivers license suspension requirements, download and our comprehensive guide.